New York Courts dot gov
New York StateUnified Court System

LAW AND EQUITY


Office - (718) 298-0616

Location: Civil Court Building at 89-17 Sutphin Blvd., Jamaica, NY 11435 Room 244

 

Please address mail correspondence to
Queens County Clerk’s Office 88-11 Sutphin Blvd., Jamaica, NY 11435


JUDGMENTS

The following types of judgments should be submitted for processing to the Law and Equity Department:

Clerk’s Default Judgment:(CPLR 3215)
Application fee of $45.00.

Judgment upon failure to comply with stipulation of settlement:(CPLR 3215)
There is no fee to file the judgment however, the original stipulation of settlement must be on file to obtain the judgment. There is a fee of $35.00 to file the stipulation of settlement.

Judgment by Confession:(CPLR 3218)
Filing fee of $210.00. Original affidavit of confession and Judgment by Confession must be submitted.

Judgment for failure to promptly pay after settlement:(CPLR 5003-a)

Judgment upon verdict:(CPLR 5016)

Judgment upon decision:(CPLR 5016)

Please Note: the Judgment Clerk can not enter judgment based on a memorandum. If judgment is based on a memorandum submit to Supreme Court, 88-11 Sutphin Boulevard, Jamaica, New York 11435, Room 140

Foreign Judgment:(CPLR 5402)
Filing fee of $210.00.

Rent Overcharge Judgment: (NYC ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SEC.26-516)
Filing fee of $210.00.

Workers Compensation Judgment:(WORKERS COMPENSATION LAW SEC. 26)

Workers Compensation Judgment:(WORKERS COMPENSATION LAW Article 54-B)

Please be advised that Workers Compensation Judgments are filed in the NYSCEF(E-file)system as well as the County Clerk’s Minutes system. View both links below for an accurate record.

Link to Queens County Clerk Document & Business search: https://iapps.courts.state.ny.us/qcco

NYSCEF system: https://iapps.courts.state.ny.us/nyscef/HomePage

The following judgment types require the signature of a Justice of the Supreme Court and will be forwarded to the Law and Equity Department by the Supreme Court for entry after signature:

Matrimonial-(Divorce Judgment)
Guardianship
Declaratory
Foreclosure
Small Claim Assessment Review
Certiorari
Structured
Condemnation

To verify that a Judgment /Decision has been entered by the Clerk please view Queens County Clerk’s Document & Business search web page: https://iapps.courts.state.ny.us/qcco

 

SURPLUS MONEY PROCEEDINGS:

DEPOSITS INTO COURT(CPLR 2601)
Deposits are accepted when a court order directs the deposit or pursuant to CPLR 3219. Deposit is made by certified or bank check payable to the Queens County Clerk. A certificate of Deposit will be supplied to the party depositing the monies.

SURPLUS MONEY PROCEEDING -CERTIFICATE OF CLAIMS & APPEARANCES, CERTIFICATE OF NO EXCEPTIONS(RPAPL 1355 & 1361)

Please provide a written request when ordering a Certificate of No Exception and Notice of Appearance/Notice of Claim List certificates with the following:

  1. Title of action,
  2. Index number,
  3. Type of certificates requested, and
  4. Include a self-addressed, stamped business-sized envelope.

Certificate of No Exception:

  • The Referee’s Report of Sale must be on file.
  • Certifies that no one has objected to the report of sale within eight days of filing.
  • A fee of $10.00 is required

Notice of Appearance/Notice of Claim List:

  • Referee’s Report of Sale must be on file and the Surplus monies must have been deposited into the court (County Clerk’s Office).
  • Processing Fee of $10.00 for each certificate.

Fees are payable in cash (except by mail), U.S. postal money order, certified check or New York State attorney's check.

 

Subpoenas

SUBPOENA TO PRODUCE QUEENS COUNTY COURT RECORD/FILE AT APPELLATE DIVISION
(CPLR 2307 & 8020)

  • Separate subpoenas required for each case index file.
  • Subpoena must be signed by the Clerk of the Appellate Division.
  • Processing Fee of $25.50 per subpoena is required.

SUBPOENA TO PRODUCE QUEENS COUNTY SUPREME COURT RECORD/FILE(CPLR 2307 & 8020)

  • Subpoena shall be issued by a Queens County Justice of the Supreme Court or by a Judge of the court in which the underlying action is pending.
  • Processing Fee of $20.00 plus an additional fee for certified mail.

SUBPOENA PURSUANT TO UNIFORM INTERSTATE DEPOSITIONS AND DISCOVERY ACT
(CPLR 3119)

To request the issuance of a subpoena pursuant to Uniform Interstate Depositions and Discovery Act, please submit to the County Clerk:

  • The out of state subpoena issued by a Judge or the Clerk of the court in the trial state seeking discovery in Queens County.
  • A prepared New York subpoena, containing the following information: name of the Deponent/ Recipient;
    Date, time and location of the deposition and/or description of documents sought;
    Paragraph stating the consequences of non-compliance;
    Identity of the of out of state action and recite that it is issued pursuant to the provisions of CPLR 3119, and
    Names, addresses and telephone numbers of all counsel of record in the out of state proceeding and all parties, not represented by counsel.
  • Processing fee of $15.00

COMMISSIONS TO GUARDIANS (MHL 81.27):
Submit original acknowledged Oath and Designation along with Commission. Should the filing of a Bond be required, submit the Bond to the Guardianship Part (located 88-11 Sutphin Blvd. Room 106) for approval prior to filing with the County Clerk Law and Equity Department. Required Bond must be filed before Commission can be issued.

RELIGIOUS CORPORATIONS (RELIGIOUS CORPORATION LAW)
Filings are accepted between the hours of 9:00 am to 3:00 pm. Submit original acknowledged certificate, prepared in compliance with the article of the New York State Religious Corporations Law that applies to your denomination. Filing fee of $110.00 plus $3.00 per page including legal back. Certified copy fee is $10.00.

Link to the Queens County Clerk's Document & Business Search:https://iapps.courts.state.ny.us/qcco

Payments/Mail

The fees are payable by U.S. postal money order, certified check or New York State attorney's check, made payable to the Queens County Clerk. Cash is only accepted when filing in person.
No personal checks will be accepted.
Please include a stamped self-addressed return envelope for your receipt.

Mail all correspondence to:

Queens County Clerk’s Office
88-11 Sutphin Boulevard
Law and Equity
Jamaica, New York 11435