
(sentence date plus 20 days)

According to Section 1193-2 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law, your driver license/privilege is:

�Suspended for 90 days (conviction of 1192-1 first offense only if not operating a CMV or Special Vehicle).

�Revoked for at least ____________________________________________________________________________________________

Sentence date _______/_______/_______. This order will be effective on _____________________________ because of your conviction of a 

violation of Subdivision __________ of Section 1192 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law.

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

ORDER OF SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

ORDER OF SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION

MV-1192 (7/10)

Motorist Name (Last, First, MI) Date of Birth Year License Expires License Class Restrictions

PART 1 - CONTINUATION OF DRIVING PRIVILEGES

Motorist Name (Last, First, MI)

Number and Street Address Ticket Number (if unavailable, enter Docket Number)

Motorist Signature Signature of Judge or Clerk of Court

City State Zip Code

Apt. #

Driver License #

COURT/VIOLATION (Certificate of Conviction must be attached)

SUSPENSION/REVOCATION

PROBATION/CONDITIONAL DISCHARGE

A person convicted of a violation of VTL 1192(2-a)(a) or (b) committed on or after 12/18/09 must be sentenced to a conditional discharge

or probation and the installation and use of the interlock device.

A person convicted of a violation of VTL 1192(2) or (3) committed on or after 11/18/09 and who is sentenced on or after 8/15/10
must be sentenced to a conditional discharge or probation and the installation and use of the interlock device.

Is motorist sentenced to: � Probation   -  If sentenced to probation, how long is the sentence?   � 3 years        � 5 years   

� Conditional Discharge - If sentenced to conditional discharge, how long is the sentence?  � 1 year  � 3 years 

Must the motorist obtain permission before applying for a license? Only applies if motorist is sentenced to probation.  � Yes  � No

If yes, do they need permission from:  � Court         � Probation Department         � Both 

Must the motorist install an Ignition Interlock Device? �� Yes �� No 

�� THE MOTORIST HAS 10 BUSINESS DAYS FROM THE DATE THE SENTENCE IS IMPOSED TO INSTALL THE IGNITION

INTERLOCK DEVICE IN MOTOR VEHICLES OWNED OR OPERATED BY THE MOTORIST.

Judge Name Violation Date Conviction Date

�Check if Youthful Offender

Court Code Vehicle Class (definitions are listed on the back of this form)

�Commercial Motor Vehicle (DMV)                        �Special Vehicle                              �All Others

Date of Birth

�Male       �Female

PART 2

According to Section 1193 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law, your driver license will be  �suspended � revoked  on ___________________. 

This order will allow you to drive, with the same limitations as your driver license, until your suspension/ revocation starts, except that if an ignition
interlock device is required, it must be installed within 10 business days of the sentence date. You must have both parts of this order
with you when you drive. If you do not have both parts of this order with you, you may be charged with a violation of the Vehicle and Traffic
Law. When the suspension/revocation starts, you do not have the right to drive unless you receive a conditional license. This order must be
turned in before a conditional license can be issued to you.

(sentence date or sentence date plus 20 days)

Duration (Enter ONLY one of the options listed on the back of this form)

(Signature of Judge or Clerk of Court)

� __________________________________________

� �
MV-1192 (7/10) Copy 1: Motorist

LICENSE SURRENDER — Has the motorist surrendered his/her license

�Yes � No If you have not turned in your driver license to the court, you must turn it in to the Department of Motor Vehicles. 

If you turn in a temporary license, you must also turn in your photo license when you receive it.
−−

� Always give Part 2 to the motorist.

� Give Part 1 to the motorist ONLY if you are 

granting continuation of driving privileges.



Any 1192 conviction (except 1192-5) while carrying hazardous materials (as

defined in Section 103 of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act, Public

Law 93-633, Title I)

DEFINITIONS

MINIMUM REVOCATION PERIODS FOR ALCOHOL-RELATED OFFENSES

Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV)

� which has a GVWR of more than 26,000 lbs.*; or

� which has a GCWR of more than 26,000 lbs.*, including any towed unit with a GVWR of more than 10,000 lbs.*, or

� designed or used to transport 15 or more passengers, in addition to the driver; or

� defined as a bus in Section 509-a(1) of the Vehicle and Traffic Law (Article 19-A); or

� which, regardless of size, is used to transport a placardable amount of hazardous materials under federal regulations (does not include 

farm vehicles).

* Determination of weight is based on GVWR, registered weight or actual weight plus load, whichever is greater.

Special Vehicle

� A taxicab or livery carrying a passenger for compensation; or

� A vehicle with a GVWR of more than 18,000 but not more than 26,000 lbs., which is not a CMV (see definitions above).

Commercial Motor Vehicles (CMVs)

OFFENSE

Any 1192 conviction (except 1192-5) 1 year 1193-2(b)(5)(i)

3 years 1193-2(b)(5)(ii)

DMV: per se - level I (1192-5) Order issued by Commissioner

of Motor Vehicles only

1193-2(b)(5)(i)

Any 1192 conviction with prior CMV/CDL-related 1192 conviction,

chemical test refusal, leaving scene, felony involving use of a CMV

Permanent revocation of CDL 1193-2(e)(3)(b)

DURATION V & T LAW SECTION

All Others/Special Vehicles

OFFENSE

Drivers age 21 or over:

DWAI (any prior 1192  conviction within 5 years - a prior 1192-a 

finding (Zero Tolerance) has the same effect as a prior 1192(1) 

finding (DWAI) for determining the length of a license sanction)

DWI (or .08) or DWAI-drugs or DWAI-drugs/alcohol [1192(4a)]

Second or subsequent DWI, .08, DWAI-drugs or DWAI-Drug/ 

Alcohol within 10 years

Special Vehicles - All 1192 offenses

Convicted of 1192(2-a) and prior within 10 years is for 1192(2)

(2-a)(3)(4) or (4-a) OR convicted of 1192(2)(3)(4) or (4-a) and 

prior within 10 years is for 1192(2-a).

Drivers under age 21:

First offense if driver is under 21 years of age on date of violation

Second or subsequent offense by driver under 21 years of age on date 

of violation. Applies to all 1192 and 1192-a (Zero Tolerance) violations.

6 months

6 months

1193-2(b)(1)

1193-2(b)(2)

Aggravated DWI .18 - 1192(2-a)(a)

Aggravated DWI - Child in Vehicle - 1192(2-a)(b)
1 year 1193-2(b)(2)

1 year 1193-2(b)(3)

1 year

18 months

1193-2(b)(4)

1193-2(b)(4)

1 year 1193-2(b)(6)

1 year, or until 21 years of

age, whichever is longer
1193-2(b)(7)

DURATION V & T LAW SECTION

MV-1192 (7/10)

� Always give Part 2 to the motorist.

� Give Part 1 to the motorist ONLY if you are 

granting continuation of driving privileges.




