HON. STEPHEN W. CASS
Acting Supreme Court Justice
Gerace Office Building, 2" Floor
P.O.Box C
Mayville, New York 14757
PHONE: (716) 753-4337 /| CHAMBERS FAX: (716) 753-4730

Principal Court Attorney: Thomas W. White, Esq. 753-4678

Associate Court Attorney: Marlene T. Sirianno, Esq. 753-4748

Court Clerk - Contested: Lissa Wilson 753-4497
Court Clerk - Uncontested: Judith M. Helman 753-4838
Secretary: Cynthia Basinait 753-4337
MOTIONS/OTSC:

Mondays, beginning at 1:30 p.m. in Judge Cass’ Courtroom; scheduled at one-half hour intervals
with the time scheduled by Chambers. Emergency matters may be heard at other times specifically
arranged with Chambers.

Orders to Show Cause must be presented by movant’s attorney to one of the Court Attorneys for
review prior to scheduling and signature. To schedule a motion date and time, contact Chambers. An
original and copy must be submitted to the Court for scheduling and signature. Motions and Orders to
Show Cause will not be placed on the Court’s calendar unless and until the required motion fee is paid to
the County Clerk’s Office.

All answering papers and any other moving papers must be received by chambers by Thursday at
5:00 p.m. or a least one day prior to the return date and should include an original and copy.

Requests for TRO’s should be on notice to opposing counsel and the Law Guardian, if known,
except for rare circumstances.

Motions/OTSC’s may not be adjourned without prior Chamber and opposing counsel approval.
This can be done by calling chambers and securing a rescheduled date at least 24 hours in advance of the
scheduled time. Motions must be adjourned to a specific date and time, and will not be adjourned
generally. The party requesting the adjournment must send written confirmation of the adjournment and
the rescheduled date to all parties and the Court.

SUBMISSION OF PROPOSED ORDERS/JUDGMENTS AND DIVORCE PACKETS:

1.  Proposed orders should be sent directly to Chambers at P.O. Box C, Mayville, New York
14757 for review by one of the Court Attorneys prior to presentation for signature.

2. Proposed orders/judgments must be submitted with indication that the order or judgment has
been sent to all opposing counsel, Law Guardian or pro se litigant and no objection has been received.
Orders/judgments will not be signed without proof of opportunity of opposing counsel, Law Guardian or
pro se litigant to review.
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3. Divorce Packets - All divorce packets, whether contested, uncontested and/or affidavit divorce
packets should be sent directly to the County Clerk’s Office. If the divorce is submitted on affidavit,
please note the same in your cover letter.

MATRIMONIAL CASES:

1. Preliminary Conferences: 22 NYCRR 202.12(b) requires that a Preliminary Conference be held
within 45 days of the filing of the RJI for a matrimonial action. Remember this time frame when
requesting adjournments. Financial Affidavits (236B) and Retainer Agreements MUST be submitted to
Chambers at least 48 hours prior to the Preliminary Conference.

2. Pre-Trial Conferences: Statements of Proposed Disposition must be submitted to the Court at
least 48 hours prior to the Pre-Trial Conference.

3. Ifacase is resolved by stipulation of the parties, the matter WILL NOT be taken off the
calendar until the Court receives a signed copy of the stipulation. Since this usually occurs on the eve of
trial, stipulations may be faxed directly to chambers at 753-4730.

4. When Judgments of Divorce provide for the full continuation of Family Court orders
(custody/visitation or child support), the Judgment must reference the Docket number(s) and Date(s) of
Family Court orders, in separate decretal paragraphs and have copies of the orders attached.

5. When an oral default is put on the record, the transcript of the default must be filed in the
County Clerk’s office with the record; however, DO NOT attach the default transcript to the Judgment of
Divorce.

6.  When a stipulation of settlement is placed on the record or if the case is settled by written
stipulation of the parties, a transcript of the oral stipulation or the written stipulation MUST be attached to
the judgment of divorce. Where the case has been settled by oral stipulation, the Affidavit of Appearance
and Adoption of Oral Stipulation MUST ALSO be attached to the Judgment.

7. When the court has rendered a written decision or bench decision, the written decision or
transcript of the bench decision MUST be attached to the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law; and,
directives of the Court must be detailed in decretal paragraphs in the Judgment of Divorce.

8. When a divorce is settled by stipulation which is incorporated into the Judgment of Divorce,
the decretal paragraphs need not specify the provisions concerning equitable distribution. However,
separate decretal paragraphs must specify provisions regarding custody, visitation, child support and
maintenance.

9. CPLR 306-b: Where service of the Summons with Notice or Summons and Complaint has not
been effected within 120 days of filing with the County Clerk’s Office, you must obtain the Court’s
permission to extend the time for service for “good cause shown”. This can be done on the papers without

the necessity of counsel’s appearance, on ex parte notice of motion and payment of the necessary motion
filed fee.
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10. UCS-111 Forms: 202 NYCRR 202.50c requires that judgments submitted to the court shall be
accompanied by a completed form.

11. Effective date of Child Support and/or maintenance in judgments and/or orders: Every
proposed judgment of divorce or temporary order containing an order of support or maintenance MUST
specify the effective date. Ifthe parties entered into an oral stipulation placed on the record in court and
the stipulation does not specify the effective date of any child support and/or maintenance orders, the
effective date to be inserted in the proposed judgment or order will be the date the stipulation was placed
on the record. If the matter is resolved by a written stipulation and there is no date specified in the
stipulation, the effective date to be inserted in the proposed judgment or order will be effective the date the
stipulation is fully signed by both parties. The best practice would be to specify the effective date in any
stipulation, written or oral. If the child support and/or maintenance order is by decision of the Court, the
decision will indicate the effective date and this date must be inserted in the proposed judgment. If orders
are payable through the Support Enforcement Unit and the effective date is not specified in the Judgment,
the Support Enforcement Unit will adhere to the dates specified in this paragraph.

12.  Prior Family Court Orders: In some judgments, the language continues a prior Family Court
order but with changes. This causes confusion in the future to have two orders in effect. In this case,
attorneys should either specify that the Family Court order will continue in it’s entirety or set forth a new,
complete order in the Judgment and specify the effective date of the new order, and terminating the prior
family court order.

13. Direct Pay orders or though Support Enforcement Unit: Any proposed judgment of divorce
should state whether child support is by way of direct pay or through the Support Enforcement Unit. If the
order is by direct pay, counsel must file the necessary form with the State Case Registry in Albany, and
provide the Court with a copy of the form and letter of filing. If payments are to be made through the
Support Enforcement Unit, the proposed judgment must contain a provision directing the filing of a copy
of the judgment with the Support Enforcement Unit.

14.  Social Security Numbers: Evry proposed Judgment of Divorce must contain the social
security numbers of parties. In addition, pursuant to DRL 240-b, any proposed judgment with an order for
child support, must contain the social security numbers of the minor children.

15. DRL Section 177 (health insurance notification) will be enforced. All stipulations after
November 1, 2007 must contain a provision and Judgments of Divorce must contain a decretal paragraph
in accordance with the statute.

TEMPORARY ORDERS OF PROTECTION:

1. If one form of relief requested in an Order to Show Cause is an order of protection PRIOR to
the return date of the Order to Show Cause, counsel should have the client available at the time the Court
signs the Order To Show Cause to present testimony on the issue. If the Order to Show Cause seeks an
order of protection upon the return date of the Order to Show Cause, counsel should have the client
available on the return date to present testimony on the issue. As a matter of course, mutual orders of
protection will not be granted.
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2. Ifthere is a pending criminal charge involving the same parties and domestic violence
allegations arising in any of the local courts and/or county court the divorce action may be transferred to
the IDV Court. Proceedings will continue in the matrimonial court until the case is accepted and
transferred.

STATEMENT OF NEW WORTH:

1. MUST be in substantial compliance with the Statement of New Worth form contained in
appendix A of the uniform rules. 22 NYCRR 202.16(b).

2. MUST complete all categories, marking “NONE”, “INAPPLICABLE” or “UNKNOWN” if
necessary.

3. MUST attach pay stubs (3 pay periods), W-2 statements or previous year’s tax return.

QUALIFIED DOMESTIC RELATIONS ORDERS:

1.  Those QDRO’s (or DRO’s) submitted with the Judgment of Divorce or within one year after
entry do not require a motion. However, they do require either the opposing counsel’s approval (or
litigant’s approval if pro se) or proper notice and default, with proof provided to the Court of same. Those
presented greater than one year after entry require a formal motion, on notice, to the opposing party and
his/her former attorney, with proof provided to the Court. A motion fee is not required.
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