

ALAN D. SCHEINKMAN PRESIDING JUSTICE APRILANNE AGOSTINO CLERK OF THE COURT

Appellate Division Supreme Court of the State of New York Second Indicial Department 45 Monroe Place Brooklyn, N.Y. 11201 (718) 875-1300

MARIA T. FASULO DARRELL M. JOSEPH DEPUTY CLERKS

KENNETH BAND MELISSA KRAKOWSKI WENDY STYNES ASSOCIATE DEPUTY CLERKS

November 17, 2020

PRESS RELEASE

PRESIDING JUSTICE ANNOUNCES RECIPIENTS OF TENTH ANNUAL MILTON MOLLEN COMMITMENT TO EXCELLENCE AWARD

BROOKLYN, NY - Presiding Justice Alan D. Scheinkman of the Supreme Court, Appellate Division, Second Judicial Department, today announced the recipients of the Tenth Annual "Milton Mollen Commitment to Excellence Award." This annual award, established in 2011, is named in honor of former Presiding Justice Milton Mollen, to recognize the achievements and efforts of the employees of the Unified Court System within the Second Judicial Department who have demonstrated professionalism, dedication and extraordinary service to their court or agency.

The awards will be presented on Wednesday, November 18, 2020, at 12:00 p.m., at a virtual ceremony conducted by the Appellate Division for the Second Judicial Department, in collaboration with the Technology Team of the Unified Court System's

Courtroom Modernization Initiative. Participants in the ceremony, which will be presided over by Presiding Justice Scheinkman and the Associate Justices of the Appellate Division, Second Judicial Department, include the Administrative Judges in the judicial districts that make up the Second Department, who will be presenting the awards, as well as former Presiding Justice Mollen's son, Scott Mollen, Esq., who is himself an accomplished attorney, and several former associate justices of the Second Department.

This year's award recognizes the achievements and efforts of the members of the Technology Departments of each judicial district within the Second Department, as well as the Second Department's own spectacular technology staff, led by William G. McCann, and the Unified Court System's Courtroom Modernization Initiative Technology Team, led by Sheng Guo. Accepting the award on behalf of the respective departments are: Kerry Warfield (2nd Judicial District), Valerie Buzzell (9th Judicial District), Frank Kromer (10th Judicial District - Nassau), Nick Apostolico (10th Judicial District - Suffolk), Michael Cheung (11th Judicial District), Matthew Mullen (13th Judicial District), Sheng Guo (UCS Courtroom Modernization Initiative Technology Team) and William G. McCann (Appellate Division, Second Judicial Department).

In announcing this year's award recipients, Presiding Justice Scheinkman said,
"It is my privilege to continue the tradition started by Former Presiding Justice Prudenti
to recognize the dedicated and committed court employees in the Second Judicial
Department with this honor. This year's recipients have demonstrated professionalism,
dedication and extraordinary service, and have unselfishly devoted their time and
talents to maintaining the safe and secure operation of their courts during the
unprecedented global pandemic, in a display of qualities synonymous with those
exemplified by former Presiding Justice Milton Mollen."

Presiding Justice Scheinkman expressed his deepest appreciation to the members of the Executive Selection Committee, and, in particular, to its Chairperson, the Honorable Reinaldo E. Rivera, for their hard work in evaluating the nominations received and in choosing this year's recipients. In addition to Justice Rivera, this year's Executive Selection Committee is comprised of the Honorable Mark C. Dillon, the Honorable Ruth C. Balkin, and the Honorable Cheryl E. Chambers, all of whom are Associate Justices of the Appellate Division, Second Judicial Department, and Aprilanne Agostino, Clerk of the Court. He also acknowledged the assistance of Martin Huynh and Thomas Loughlin from the Unified Court System's Courtroom Modernization Initiative Technology Team in putting this year's program together.