Home New York State Unified Court System


    Press Releases   back
 Press Center - N.Y. State Courts
Communications Office:
David Bookstaver, Director
Mai Yee, Assistant Director
(212) 428-2500

Date: April 9, 2003

Seal of the Unified Court System
Chief Judge's Appointment of New Commission Marks Start of Second Phase of Jury Reform in New York
NEW YORK - Chief Judge Judith S. Kaye announced the formation of the Commission on the Jury - a special panel charged with finding ways to better utilize the time of citizens who report for jury service - following a study revealing that eighty-two percent of New Yorkers called for jury service are never selected to serve on a trial. The 28-member commission, composed of judges, prosecutors, defense attorneys, civil litigators and jury commissioners from across the state, is chaired by Mark C. Zauderer, a founding partner in the law firm of Solomon, Zauderer, Ellenhorn, Frischer & Sharp.

Chief Judge Kaye said, "It is disconcerting to learn that so many New Yorkers reporting for jury service never have the opportunity to participate in a jury at all but, for one reason or another, are dismissed at the voir dire stage. Recognizing that people enjoy jury service more when they actually are able to sit on a case, and seeking to end the colossal waste of time and money involved in the summoning to court of vast numbers of citizens who are never selected for a trial, I have appointed  the Commission on the Jury, headed by the energetic and very able Mark Zauderer. As we enter the next phase of our continuing program to improve New York's jury system, this new commission under Mr. Zauderer's leadership can provide the guidance and insight needed to ensure that optimal numbers of citizens will be able to experience the satisfaction of serving on a jury and that their time will be used in the most productive and efficient manner possible."

Commission Chair Mark Zauderer stated, "For over a decade, Chief Judge Kaye has championed the cause of enhancing the jury system in New York, and we now follow in the footsteps of previous commissions she has appointed that have engendered such a sea change of improvements in the state's jury system. I am honored to chair this new commission, which has been charged with probing the reasons why so many citizens are not selected to sit on trials, as well as seeking ways to improve the juror experience in general. Speaking for myself as well as my commission co-members, we are eager to engage in the important task before us and look forward to presenting the court system with a detailed report and recommended plan of action when our work is completed."

The membership roster is attached.

     The Commission on the Jury
      Membership Roster

Mark C. Zauderer, Esq.
Solomon, Zauderer, Ellenhorn, Frischer & Sharp
New York, NY

Hon. Myriam J. Altman 
Appellate Division, Second Department
New York, NY     

Hon. Daniel D. Angiolillo
Supreme Court, Ninth Judicial District
White Plains, NY

Hon. Phylis Skloot Bamberger 
Supreme Court, Twelfth Judicial District
Bronx, NY   

Thomas E. Bezanson, Esq.
Chadbourne & Parke LLP
New York, NY

Hon. Herman Cahn  
Supreme Court, First Judicial District  
New York, NY     

Vicent E.Doyle, III, Esq.
Connors & Villardo, LLP
Buffalo, NY

Angelo G. Faraci, Esq.   
Faraci & Lange, LLP
Rochester, NY     

Hon.Bernard J. Fried
Supreme Court, First Judicial District.
New York, NY

Margaret J. Gillis, Esq.
Whiteman Osterman & Hanna LLP
Albany, NY 

Hon. Norman Goodman
County Clerk and Clerk of the Supreme Court
New York, NY

Hon. Kathleen B. Hogan  
District Attorney, Warren County
Lake George, NY    

Frederick C. Johs, Esq.
Lewis, Johs, Avallone, Aviles & Kaufman, LLP
Melville, NY

Diana Krigelman
private citizen and former juror
New York, NY    

Jeffrey A. Lichtman, Esq.
Trolman, Glaser & Lichtman
New York, NY

Susan B. Lindenauer, Esq.  
New York Legal Aid
New York, NY  

Loretta E. Lynch, Esq.
Hogan & Hartson LLP
New York, NY

Christopher T. McGrath, Esq.   
Sullivan Papain Block McGrath & Cannavo P.C.
Mineola, NY    

Hon. Lorraine S. Miller
retired Supreme Court Justice
New York, NY 10038

Hon. Patrick D. Monserrate
Supreme Court, Sixth Judicial District 
Binghamton, NY   

Hon. Sidney Oglesby
Commissioner of Jurors, Onondaga County
Syracuse, NY

Sharon M. Porcellio, Esq.
Lippes, Silverstein, Mathias & Wexler, LLP
Buffalo, NY  

Ransom P. Reynolds, Jr., Esq.
Davidson & O'Mara, P.C.
Elmira, NY

Hon. Jaime A. Rios
Supreme Court, Eleventh Judicial District
Kew Gardens, NY   

Daniel R. Santola, Esq.
Powers & Santola, LLP
Albany, NY

Amy W. Schulman, Esq.  
Piper Rudnick LLP
New York, NY 

Kenneth E. Warner, Esq.
Coblence & Warner, P.C.
New York, NY

Hon. F. Dana Winslow
Supreme Court, Tenth Judicial District
Mineola, NY