2014 David A. Garfinkel Essay Contest
Free Speech and Free Press in the Electronic Age

Awards & Honorable Mentions

NYS Community College Grand Prize
Zachary Field / Essay [PDF]
Onondaga Community College, Prof. David Deacon

CUNY Community College Prize
Lida Ramos Arce / Essay [PDF]
Queensborough Community College, Prof. Leslie Francis

SUNY Community College Prize
Rhonda Parker / Essay [PDF]
Genesee Community College, Prof. Charles Scruggs

Claire Albrecht, Queensborough Community College Prof. Leslie Francis

Wei Bin Bai, Queensborough Community College Prof. Christine Mooney

Maisey Loucks, SUNY Adirondack Dr. John Arpey

Eileen McDonagh, Nassau Community College Prof. Ann Harrison

Ryan Polito, Onondaga Community College Prof. Rich Jarrett

Amanda Seepersaud, Queensborough Community College Prof. Christine Mooney

Erwin Soria, Queensborough Community College Prof. Christne Mooney

Daniela Teshima Valenzuela, Queensborough Community College Prof. Stephen Hammel

Rebecca Woodruff, Genesee Community College Prof. Charles Scruggs

Mirkala Zuna, Queensborough Community College Prof. Christine Mooney

On April 30, 2014 the Winners of the Contest received their prizes at the annnual Law Day celebration at the New York Court of Appeals. The awards were presented by Judge Jenny Rivera.

2014 Prizewinners, faculty, family and Court staff
Left to Right
Frances Murray (Court of Appeals)
Michael Benowitz (Assistant Director)
Marilyn Marcus (Executive Director)
Prof. David Deacon (Onondaga CC)
Zachary Field (Grand Prize Winner)
Dr. Jonas Falik (Queensborough CC)
Hon. Jenny Rivera (Court of Appeals)
Lida Ramos Arce (CUNY Prize Winner)
Rhonda Parker (SUNY Prize Winner)
Prof. Leslie Francis (Queensborough CC)
Prof. Karen Wicka (Genesee CC)

Previous Garfinkel Essay Contest Topics & Winners

2013: Cyberspace and the Law What are Our Rights and Responsibilities

2013 Grand Prize Winner Josh Pawlikowski Receiving his Prize at Law Day

The 2013 Grand Prize Winner Josh Pawlikowski receiving his prize at the Court of Appeals. (Seated are Chief Admin. Judge A. Gail Prudenti and First Deputy Chief Admin. Judge Lawrence K. Marks)

GRAND PRIZE: Josh Pawlikowski, Mohawk Valley Community College: Professor David Katz / ESSAY [PDF]

CUNY PRIZE: Ruby SIngh, Queensborough Community College: Professor Christine Mooney / ESSAY [PDF]

SUNY PRIZE: Zachary Field, Onondaga Community College: Professor Mary Bogin & Instructor David Hines / ESSAY [PDF]





2012: The Blue and the Gray: New York during The Civil War

Garfinkel Winners in Richardson Courtroom

NY Court of Appeals Courtroom

L to R Bottom Row: Amanda Griffin (3rd Place
Genesee CC), Mary Erckert (2nd Place,Erie CC),
Rodney Schulyer (1st Place Fulton-Montgomery CC)

L to R Top Row: Michael Benowitz (Assistant Director),
Marilyn Marcus (Executive Director), Frances Murray
(Court of Appeals Chief Reference Attorney)

1ST PRIZE: Amelia Weimar, Onondaga Community College / ESSAY [PDF]

2ND PRIZE: Kevin Volk, Genesee Community College / ESSAY [PDF]

3RD PRIZE: James Gerber, Borough of Manhattan Community College / ESSAY [PDF]

The Historical Society of the Courts of the State of New York        140 Grand Street, Suite 701 White Plains, N.Y. 10601        914.824.5717