
GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR PRO SE PARTIES AND ATTORNEYS
WISHING TO APPEAL TO ERIE COUNTY COURT FROM A CIVIL

DECISION, JUDGMENT OR ORDERS OF CITY, TOWN OR VILLAGE
COURTS WITHIN ERIE COUNTY

Please read the following before proceeding with your appeal:

The Court must not only be fair and impartial in determining the controversy between
the parties to any proceeding, but must also avoid any appearance of impropriety or
bias.  Therefore, in order to maintain the appropriate level of compliance with the
tenets of judicial ethics, please be advised that this Court cannot and will not provide
legal advice and/or assistance to litigants on either side of a controversy. If you have any
questions as to how to proceed, you should consult with the Eighth Judicial District Court
Help Center or an attorney. The Help Center is located in the Supreme Court Law Library
at 77 West Eagle Street and can be contacted at 845-1816 or CHC8JD@nycourts.gov. The
Bar Association of Erie County provides a Lawyer Referral and Information Service which
can be contacted at 852-3100. Do NOT call, email or otherwise contact the Judge’s Law
Clerk or Secretary for advice or assistance in preparing your submissions to the Court.

All statutory requirements pursuant to the Civil Practice Law and Rules, Uniform Rules of
the New York State Trial Courts, UCCA, UCJA, and any other applicable statutes must be
adhered to.  Failure to perfect the appeal in a timely manner and no later than 9 months from
the date of the filing of the Notice of Appeal will result in dismissal of the appeal either on
the court’s own motion or upon motion by any party to the appeal.

An Appeal is not a new trial.  It is merely a review of the court proceedings held and the
documents presented during the court proceedings in the local court.  No new testimony and
additional evidence will be accepted or admitted.  In a Small Claim appeal, the standard
review by the Court is to determine if “substantial justice” was done.

The County Court has the discretion to extend filing deadlines however any such request
must be in writing, must indicate the reason for the extension, and the length of the
extension.

If you did not appear for the local court proceedings and a ‘default judgment’ was entered,
you cannot appeal the default judgment.  You must file a motion with the local court to
vacate the default judgment (CPLR § 5015 and 5511).  If the default judgment is not
vacated, you have the option to appeal the decision of the Court on the motion.



Instructions for the Appellant (the party filing the Appeal).  PLEASE NOTE, AT A
MINIMUM, steps 1-3 should have been completed prior to receiving the letter that

is included with these instructions.    

1. Within 30 days of the date that the Civil Judgment was rendered, completely fill out
the Notice of Appeal providing a current and complete address for both parties. 
Make sure to indicate which party is the Appellant (party filing the Appeal) and
which party is the Appellee/Respondent .  If either party was represented by an
attorney, you must include the attorney’s name, address and phone number.

2. Apply for index number, in person,  at Actions and Proceedings, Erie County Clerk’s
Office, 92 Franklin Street, 1  Floor, Buffalo, New York and simultaneously file thest

Notice of Appeal with County Clerk.  There is no fee for the index number.  You will
be also be required to complete a Request for Judicial Intervention.  Be sure to list
all addresses on page 2 of the RJI for the parties or attorneys in the action.

NOTE: The caption on the Notice of Appeal and the RJI must be the same caption that
appeared in the lower court regardless of which party is appealing the lower court
matter.   If you were the defendant in the original titled action, you remain the
defendant and also become the appellant (i.e. Defendant / Appellant) on the Notice of
Appeal and RJI.

3. Serve the Notice of Appeal on the opposing party/parties or their attorney. Please
note; if the opposing party is represented by an attorney you must serve their
attorney and should address all correspondence to that party’s attorney only. 

PLEASE NOTE: Steps 4 and 5 must be completed within thirty (30) days from date
that the lower court’s judgment was served upon the appealing party.

4. File an additional copy of the Notice of Appeal with the court from which you are
appealing, together with an affidavit that the other party/parties have been served.
The County Court index number must be written on the face of the notice.  There is
a fee to file the Notice of Appeal with the local court.

5. If stenographic minutes were taken in the trial court or if the lower court proceedings
were recorded, order the transcript(s) of the proceeding(s) from the stenographer or
the lower court (fee required). Once the Appellant has received the copy of the
transcript, the Appellant must serve a copy on the Appellee and on the local
court.

If stenographic minutes were not taken or recorded, the trial judge or his/her clerk
must prepare minutes or notes describing the testimony.



6a. If stenographic minutes of the testimony were taken, you must attempt to “settle the
transcript” with the opposing party or his attorney (see CPLR § 5525 [1]). If all parties
are in agreement, the parties may sign written agreement (stipulation) that the transcript,
together with any corrections that are proposed, are correct.   File this agreement with the
local court.  If the parties are unable to agree on the proposed objections to the transcript,
the appellant must petition the local court to settle the record (see Uniform Justice Court
Act and Uniform City Court Act § 1704)

If the appellee does not respond to the request from the appellant with proposed
objections to the transcript within the time limits pursuant to statute (see CPLR § 5525
[1]) the appellant may proceed without the need to “settle the transcript” as long as the
appellant meets the requirements of CPLR § 5525 [2, 3]. (also see Uniform Justice Court
Act and Uniform City Court Act § 1704)

                                                          OR

6b. If stenographic minutes were not taken, the trial judge or his/her clerk must prepare
minutes or notes describing the testimony.

6c. The Appellant must follow-up with the trial court to make sure that the  lower court
file is sent to County Court - Chief Clerk’s Office, 25 Delaware Avenue, Ground
Floor, Buffalo New York 14202.   The lower court file will contain the small claims
application (if any), pleadings, motions, exhibits and transcripts (or judge/clerk notes) if
they were filed with the lower court (as required in # 5 above).  If exhibits were returned
to you at the trial, you should inspect the record prepared by the trial court before it is
submitted to County Court to assure that all exhibits admitted into evidence by the trial
court are included. 

NOTE: When the appeal is from an order deciding a motion or other proceeding in which
no testimony was taken, the court clerk files the Record with the County Court within (10)
days after the Notice of Appeal is filed.  In such cases, there is no requirement that the
record be settled.

7. Within twenty (20) days that the record is settled, the Appellant must serve the other party
with a Brief, Record and a Notice of Argument.   The Record must be bound separately
from the Brief.  All relevant documents should be reproduced and each page
sequentially numbered. 

BRIEF: PLEASE NOTE THAT BRIEFS MUST BE TYPEWRITTEN.  The brief
should begin with an introductory statement of factual background underlying the lawsuit,
and the Appellant’s specific claims as to the alleged errors in finding of facts or
application of law.  Please note, AN APPEAL IS NOT A NEW TRIAL - no
additional testimony will be taken or new evidence admitted.

The brief may not rely upon affidavits or other documents that are not part of the record
on appeal from the trial court.



RECORD: The Record must contain the following documents:  small claims application
(if any), pleadings, motions, exhibits and transcripts (or judge/clerk notes) that the
appellant is relying upon for the appeal. 

File copies of the Brief, Record and Notice, together with an affidavit of service upon the
opposing party(ies) and with the County Court - Chief Clerk’s Office, 25 Delaware
Avenue, Ground Floor, Buffalo New York 14202.  If you wish to have oral argument or
to submit the appeal to be decided on papers only, state this in the notice.  However,
please note that the Court may still require oral argument.

If the Appeal has not been so perfected, the appeal will be dismissed by the Court
without further action or notice.

8. Instruction for the Respondent/Appellee: Once the Respondent has received a copy of
the Appellant’s brief, the Respondent must submit his/her written responding brief, as set
forth in instruction #7 above, within thirty (30) days and serve the same upon the
opposing party or opposing counsel.

If the Respondent is requesting oral argument, it must be stated in the responding brief. 
 The Court will determine if oral argument is needed.

9. The Appellant will have an additional thirty (30) days to file a written Reply with the
County Court and the opposing party or opposing counsel.

10. The court will then send a written notice to both parties setting forth the date, time and
place for oral argument, if necessary.

PLEASE NOTE: AN APPEAL IS NOT A NEW TRIAL - no additional testimony
will be taken nor new evidence admitted.

1I. After argument or submission, a written decision will be issued by the County Court
generally within sixty (60) days.
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