New York Courts dot gov
New York StateUnified Court System

New York State - Judicial Districts

For administrative purposes, the sixty-two counties that make up the State of New York are divided into thirteen Judicial Districts.


District Counties
1st JD New York County
2nd JD Kings
3rd JD Albany, Columbia, Greene, Rensselaer, Schoharie, Sullivan, Ulster
4th JD Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Montgomery, St. Lawrence, Saratoga, Schenectady, Warren, Washington
5th JD Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego
6th JD Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Madison, Otsego, Schuyler, Tioga, Tompkins
7th JD Cayuga, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne, Yates
8th JD Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Niagara, Orleans, Wyoming
9th JD Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Westchester
10th JD Nassau & Suffolk
11th JD Queens
12th JD Bronx
13th JD Richmond (Staten Island)