New York Courts dot gov
New York StateUnified Court System

Educational Tools - The David A. Garfinkel Essay Contest

Law Day was designated by President Eisenhower as a “day of national dedication to the principle of government under law.” In honor of the 50th Anniversary of Law Day, celebrated in 2008, The Historical Society of the Courts of the State of New York created the David A. Garfinkel Essay Contest.


2013 Essay Prize Winners

The topic of this year's contest was Cyberspace and the Law: What are Our Rights and Responsibilities?

Leah Reino, Marilyn Marcus, Kerri Pickard-DePriest, Frances Murray

Standing L-R: SUNY Prize winner Zachary Field from Onondaga
Community College, Grand Prize winner Josh Pawlikowski from
Mohawk Valley Community College and CUNY Prize winner Ruby Singh
from Queensborough Community College. Seating: Chief Administrative
Judge A. Gail Prudenti and First Deputy Chief Administrative Judge
Lawrence Marks.


2013 Honorable Mentions

Husni Abdelqader - Queensborough Community College
Benjamin Berry - Genesee Community College
Kristi Diaz - Queensborough Community College
Gina DiGiovanni - Westchester Community College
Jeinson Espinosa - Queensborough Community College
Robert Johnson - Monroe Community College
Beatrice LaViscount - Queensborough Community College
Daniel Vincent Marrano - Adirondack Community College
Christian Meyers - Borough of Manhattan Community College
Farah Naz - Queensborough Community College
Diane Notar - Erie Community College
Sara Sahibzada - Queensborough Community College
Nicholas Van Nostrand - Fulton-Montgomery Community College


Past Winners: 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008