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BUDGET BULLETIN NUMBER  330               October 18, 2000

TO: Holders of the Financial Planning and Control Manual

SUBJECT: Transcript Page Rates and Definitions

This supersedes the provisions of Budget Bulletin 309, dated May 4, 1998
and all other bulletins relating to fees for transcripts paid to nonjudicial
officers and employees in positions in the following negotiating units: the
Association of Surrogate’s and Supreme Court Reporters within the City
of New York; the Court Officers Benevolent Association of Nassau
County; District Council 37, AFSCME, AFL-CIO and Local 1070; the
Ninth Judicial District Court Employees Association; and the Suffolk
County Court Employees Association.  These rates do not apply to CSEA
- represented court reporters who continue to be subject to the provisions
of Budget Bulletin 309.  Likewise, the per diem appearance fee provisions
of Budget Bulletin 309 remain in force and effect.

Pursuant to the provisions of chapter 279 of the Laws of 2000, and in consultation with the
Administrative Board of the Courts, the Chief Administrative Judge has amended Part 108 of his
Rules (22 NYCRR Part 108) to establish the following transcript rates per page and definitions
applicable to each transcript of proceedings recorded in the New York State courts provided that:
(1) such transcript is produced and delivered by a court reporter who is not represented by CSEA,
and (2) such transcript is ordered on or after August 16, 2000:

1. For purposes of determining transcription fees, a page shall be defined as:

25 numbered lines, not including title or page numbers
8 ½" x 11" paper
left-hand margin 1 3/4"
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right-hand margin 3/8"
writing block - horizontal 6 5/16"
writing block - vertical 9"
Q&A = 5 then to margin
colloquy = 15 then 5
space stops 5-5-5
10 characters to inch
13 lines for full page

2. The rate per page to be paid to a court reporter for production and delivery of a transcript (except
where the UCS is responsible for payment) shall be as agreed upon by the court reporter and the
ordering party provided such rate shall be within whichever of the following ranges applies:

(a) Where the transcript is not to be paid for from public funds:

Regular delivery: $3.30 - $4.30 (original)
$1.00 (each copy)

Expedited delivery: $4.40 - $5.40 (original)
$1.10 (each copy)

Daily delivery: $5.50 - $6.50 (original)
$1.25 (each copy)

(b) Where the transcript is to be paid for from public funds (except where the UCS is
responsible for payment):

Regular delivery: $2.50 - $3.15 (original)
$1.00 (each copy)

Expedited delivery: $3.15 - $4.25 (original)
$1.10 (each copy)

Daily delivery: $3.75 - $5.25 (original)
$1.25 (each copy)

(c) The provisions of subdivision (b) notwithstanding, where a transcript which is to be paid
for from public funds (except where the UCS is responsible for payment) was ordered on
or after August 16, 2000, but transcribed prior to such date:
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Regular delivery: $2.25 - $2.75 (original)
$1.00 (each copy)

Expedited delivery: $2.75 - 3.85 (original)
$1.10 (each copy)

Daily delivery: $3.40 - $4.75 (original)
$1.25 (each copy)

2. The rate per page to be paid a court reporter for production and delivery of a transcript where
the UCS is responsible for payment shall be:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (c) of this section, where the transcript is not
ordered by a judge for the court’s use, the only authorized page rate for payment for such
transcript is $2.50 for an original plus $1.00 for each copy.  (Note: this rate also will apply
in UCS administrative proceedings)

(b) Where the transcript is ordered by a judge for the court’s use, the only authorized page
rate for payment for such transcript is $2.50 for an original plus $1.00 for each copy,
unless regular delivery of such transcript has been ordered, in which event there is to be
no charge for such transcript.

(c) Where the transcript is ordered pursuant to section 460.70 of the Criminal Procedure
Law, the only authorized page rate for payment for such transcript is $3.50 for an original
and no charge for one copy thereof.

(d) The provisions of subdivisions (a) through (c) of this section notwithstanding, where a
transcript subject to one of those provisions was ordered on or after August 16, 2000, but
transcribed prior to such date, the only authorized page rate for payment shall be the rate
provided in such subdivision less ten percent thereof.

4. The range of rates provided herein is intended to allow court reporters and persons/parties other
than the UCS ordering transcripts to negotiate payment rates reflective of  regional and market
differences in the cost of transcripts and transcript production, complexity of the subject matter
of proceedings recorded, and an affected court reporter’s transcript volume.  Where a court
reporter and an ordering party cannot agree upon a rate, the court reporter shall not be required
to produce or deliver the transcript except where regular delivery has been ordered, in which
event the lowest rate within the range of rates specified for regular delivery will be the applicable
rate.
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5. If agreed to by the court reporter and the ordering party, a transcript may be produced and
delivered in the form of a file (in ASCII or other agreed-upon format) on a computer diskette.
In such event, such file shall be designated as an original or copy as the court reporter and the
ordering party shall agree, and the court reporter shall be paid at the per page rate that would
apply hereunder were the transcript in paper form; except that, for such purpose, where a
transcript delivered as a file on a computer diskette is compressed, each quadrant ( i.e., one of
four transcript pages electronically compressed into a single page) of such transcript shall be
deemed a separate page.

6. The following definitions shall apply to the rates and provisions contained herein:

(a) “Daily delivery” means production and delivery of a transcript on the morning of the next
UCS workday.

(b) “Expedited delivery” means production and delivery of a transcript within five (5) UCS
workdays for each day’s or partial day’s proceeding.

(c) “Regular delivery” means production and delivery of a transcript under ordinary
circumstances after the conclusion of the proceedings, and including any production and
delivery times that exceed those for daily or expedited delivery.

(d) Delivery times are measured from the time that the reporter receives the order for the
transcript or portion thereof.

(e) To qualify for the “copy” rate, a transcript or portion thereof must be ordered within
thirty (30) days from the date on which the original of such transcript or portion thereof
was ordered.

7. The State shall not provide any court reporting equipment or supplies except for stenographic
machine packets.

8. Each court reporter who furnishes a transcript of a court proceeding to a private party  shall, at
the time the transcript is requested, enter into a written agreement for its production with that
individual  or party requesting the transcript.  The agreement shall be documented on the attached
form. This agreement shall set forth the payment rate per page, the estimated number of pages
and the estimated date by which the transcript shall be delivered.  No later than seven (7) days
after entering into such written agreement, each court reporter who enters into a written
agreement shall file a copy of that agreement in the office of the appropriate supervisor as
designated by the Administrative Judge.
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Any questions regarding these provisions should be directed to the UCS Division of Human
Resources - Office of Employee Relations.

Please ensure distribution of this bulletin to all personnel within your respective jurisdictions who
may be responsible for the processing of, or the monitoring of internal controls relating to, State-funded
transcript expenditures.



(UCS - Revised 1999)
COURT REPORTER MINUTE AGREEMENT FORM

(Private Party Transactions)

Please Type or Print Clearly

1._____________________________________________ Court, _____________________________________________________ County

Part No. ____________________ Name of Judge / Justice __________________________________________________

2. Name of Case __________________________________________

__________________________________________

__________________________________________

3. Court Docket / File / Index Number _______________________ 4. Date(s) of Minutes Requested ______________________________

5. Type of Proceeding (check one or more):

Arraignment ______   Application ______   Hearing ______   Plea ______   Trial ______   Sentence ______

Other (specify): ______________________________

6. Pursuant to Section 108 of the Rules of the Chief Administrator, the rates per page for transcripts of proceedings reported in the New York State
Courts shall be as follows:

Regular delivery: $3.30 - $4.30 (original)
$1.00 (each copy)

Expedited delivery: $4.40 - $5.40 (original)
$1.10 (each copy)

Daily delivery: $5.50 - $6.50 (original)
$1.25 (each copy)

7. Rate to be Charged Per Page: ________________

Regular ______   Expedited _______   Daily ______   Other ______

No. of Copies Ordered ______________

8. Estimated Number of Pages: ____________ 9. Estimated Delivery Date: ______________

10. Agreed to:

____________________________________________   ____________________________________________   _______________________
     Court Reporter (signature) Attorney / Party (signature)    Date of Agreement

Name of Court Reporter _________________________________  Name of Attorney / Party ________________________________________

Address ______________________________________________  Firm / Address ________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________   ____________________________________________________________

Telephone Number _____________________________________ Telephone Number _____________________________________________

Fax Number __________________________________________   Fax Number __________________________________________________

A copy of this agreement must be filed by the court reporter with his / her supervisor as designated by the Administrative Judge within 7 calendar
days following  the date of the agreement.


